Friday, June 21, 2013

Sloth Metropolis "Departure" EP

Country: UK
Sub GenreProg Folk
Release dateJune 21, 2013
  1. Sloth of the Metropolis 05:52
  2. Modern Aristotle 03:46
  3. Wee Fib 03:09
  4. Big Lie 06:43
Calum Calderwood: lead vocals, electric fiddle
Lewis MacKenzie: bass guitar
Steve McNamara: drums, percussion, additional vocals
Alastair Milton: keys, reeds

Opener ‘Sloth of the Metropolis’ is a strange, five-minute introduction to the group that raises a few eyebrows. A combination of sonic bombardment and eclectic lyricism that feels a little like an in-joke listeners aren’t allowed to know of – it could be regarded as either a disaster of an opener or a brave choice.
Thankfully it’s the latter. It is, after all, in the prog tradition to be that little bit more quirky than your usual fare.
Read the full review by Jonathan Whitelaw at isthismusic.com

Bandcamp (name your price)

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment