Saturday, January 18, 2014

Ex Libris "Medea"

Country: Netherlands
Sub GenreProgressive Gothic Metal
Release date: January 18, 2014
1. Medea
2. Murderess In Me
3. On The Ocean’s Command
4. My Dream I Dream
5. Song Of Discord
6. A Mother’s Lament
7. Daughter Of Corinth
8. A Tale Told…
9. From Birth To Bloodshed

Dianne van Giersbergen, Vocals
Paul van den Broek, Guitars
Koen Stam, Keys
Peter den Bakker, Bass
Eelco van der Meer, Drums

Medea is fully based on the Greek tragedy with the same name. Medea is an ancient Greek tragedy written by Euripides, based upon the myth of Jason and Medea and first produced in 431 BC. The plot centers on the barbarian protagonist as she finds her position in the Greek world threatened, and the revenge she takes against her husband Jason who has betrayed her for another woman.
The album can be seen by that as a ‘concept’ album or even as a Metal Opera. Ex Libris plays progressive symphonic metal and with that not that far off progressive symphonic rock.
 Read the full review by Ton Dekkers at soniccathedral.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment