Friday, January 10, 2014

Cullooden "Silent Scream"

Country: Sweden
Sub GenreProgressive Metal
LabelDead End Exit Records
Release dateJanuary 10, 2014
01. Heaven Feels So Hollow (06:25)
02. Drowning In Silence (04:50)
03. Endless Tears (05:57)
04. Embrace Your Destiny (05:24)
05. Our Only Desire (05:00)
06. The Progress (07:09)
07. Take Hold Of Your Fear (05:24)
08. An Interesting Fact (05:42)
09. Welcome To Wonderland (05:30)
10. Star Of The Night (06:28)

Fredrik Joakimsson - Vocals, Guitar
Jonas Ekestubbe - Guitar
Michael Södergren - Bass

Silent Scream contains the lighter sort of melodic prog [metal] reminiscent of bands like Threshold, Teodor Tuff, and maybe Circus Maximus at its least complex and most compact. I describe the band this way because of several factors. First of all, there’s not much keyboard here beyond a few touches of support, and guitar fills most of the instrumental arena. Secondly, almost every song on the album is a hefty melodic vocal feature, and the focus upon hooky choruses is quite similar to the bands above.  At times, Cullooden almost eclipses them for just a minute – but (and there’s always a “but”) there always seems to be a little drawback that gets on my nerves.
Read the full review at blackwindmetal.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment