Friday, January 24, 2014

Descend "Wither"

Country: Sweden
Sub GenreProgressive Melodic Death Metal
Label: Inverse Records
Release dateJanuary 24,2014
  1. Confined by Evil 08:51
  2. The Rancorous Paradigm 06:17
  3. In Hours of Despair 07:32
  4. Severance 03:40
  5. Wither 02:38
  6. Diabolic 08:09
  7. From Grace to Grave 07:23
  8. Sundown 12:05
Nima Farhadian Langroudi - Vocals
Andreas Lindström - Guitars
Alex Wijkman - Guitars
Jonathan Persson - Drums
Justin Biggs - Bass

The quintet employ a combination of progressive, technical and melodic sounds and styles in this album that really is intriguing, even if you might not be a death metal fan. In some ways, this reminds me of a more modern version of Death; a rather lofty comparison, I know, but I promise you, it’s a very apt one as well. It has that complexity and brutality along with the melodic structures of an album like Symbolic; the main difference being the lack of Chuck Schuldiner, which is hardly surprising. However, it doesn’t take the genius of Schuldiner to make an excellent death metal album.
 Read the full review by Ian Yeara at metal-observer.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment