Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Everthrone "Evil Tongues"

Country: USA
Sub GenreProgressive Metal
LabelTribunal Records
Release dateDecember 10, 2013
1. Silent 02:07
2. Remnants 04:33
3. The Snake and the Lamb 04:41
4. Cast Out 01:50
5. I Am Usurper 03:21
6. Hope Behind Our Eyes 05:49
7. Euphoria 04:55
8. Gilded Throat 05:05
9. Send Me an Angel (Real Lifes cover) 04:01

Mitchell Plyler - Bass
Jeremy McKeown - Drums
Nevin McKeown - Guitars
Chris Carland - Keyboards
Russell Plyler - Vocals

On their Jamie King-produced debut album, Evil Tongues, the group take their progressive metal sound and underscore it with a synth-driven rhythmic thrust that was so prevalent during the golden age of darkwave in the '80s.
The marriage of forward-thinking heavy metal arrangements and synth-pop might sound a bit risky, but not only does Everthrone make the unlikely stylistic combination work, they also make it all feel seamless and natural, a testament to the group's profound talents. In an age of fly-by-night, Internet hype-driven metal acts, Everthrone march to the beat of their own drummer, giving hope to those who care more about songwriting mastery than the flavor of the week.


No comments :

Post a Comment