Friday, January 16, 2015

Farmhouse Odyssey "Farmhouse Odyssey"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Rock, Jazz, Psychedelic, Funk, Jamband
FormatCD, digital
Release date: January 2015 (digital), May 6, 2015 (CD)
  1. So It Would Seem 12:44
  2. Dante 7:31
  3. Sleeping Silent 12:49
  4. Cross the Deep 9:15
  5. Colossal Cypress 6:52
  6. A Moment To Take 10:43
Alex Espe- Vocals, Keyboards
Ian Taylor- Bass Guitar, Vocals
Thatcher Holvick-Norton- Drums, Vocals
Alex Pepe- Guitars
Aaron Laughlin- Guitars, Vocals

...a five-piece jam band who freely mix elements of progressive rock, jazz, funk and psychedelic moods...  The opening track is the twelve-plus-minute “So It Would Seem” which starts small and slowly begins to build up, with catchy guitar jingles, and the addition of mellotron and synth bass. As far as the construction of “So It Would Seem” goes, it basically follows the jam band standard of pickups and breakdowns.
Perhaps the most diverse song on the record is the trippy “Colossal Cypress” which combines synth keyboard elements with funky world music beats and some bluesy and at times borderline hard rock guitar parts. “Colossal Cypress” also contains one of the heaviest and most raucous jam sessions I’ve heard out of a band in a long time. Without overstepping my boundaries I would say it could be apprentice in musical arrangement to Queen. However much of these arrangements can be lost due to the oftentimes shoddy sounding recording. It sounds like it was recorded live, which contrary to popular belief, doesn’t sound the same as being at a live show.
 Read the full review by Jamie Robash at theequalground.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment