Tuesday, January 27, 2015

THEO "The Game Of Ouroboros"

Country: USA
Sub GenreProgressive Rock
LabelBig O Records (USA), Generation Prog Records (Europe)
FormatCD, digital
Release dateJanuary 27, 2015
1. Game Of Ouroboros - 9:42
2. The Blood That Floats My Throne - 8:17
3. Creatures Of Our Comfort - 6:45
4. These Are The Simple Days - 8:03
5. Idle Worship - 13:27
6. Exile - 11:14

Jim Alfredson - lead vocals, keys, backing vocals
Gary Davenport - bass, Chapman Stick, fretless bass
Kevin DePree - drums, percussion, backing vocals
Jake Reichbart - guitars

Formed by world reknown keyboardist Jim Alfredson (organissimo, Dirty Fingers, Janiva Magness, Greg Nagy Band, Root Doctor) THEO harkens back to the keyboard-centric superbands of the 1970s like Yes, Genesis, and Emerson Lake and Palmer, but with a distinctly modern and bold approach.
THEO also represents a return to the concept of the keyboardist as a vital and irreplaceable part of the group, rather than a mere sideman.
Theo intrepid and dynamic music is paired with auspicious lyrical themes of corporatization, consumerism, loss of innocence, exile, and the obsession with celebrity. Lead vocals are handled by Alfredson himself. Usually relegated to background duties, Alfredson‘s surprisingly flexible baritone voice shifts from soaring muscularity to intimate falsetto and everything between.
The eponymous debut album features six tracks including an epic 30 minute opening suite.(prog-sphere.com)


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment