Thursday, August 1, 2013

Ulver "Messe I.X-VI.X"

Country: Norway
Sub GenreElectronica, Classical, Psychedelic
LabelNeuropa Records, Jester Records, Kscope
Release dateAugust 1, 2013
1. As Syrians Pour in, Lebanon Grapples with Ghosts of a Bloody Past (11:50)
2. Shri Schneider (5:34)
3. Glamour Box (Ostinati) (6:10)
4. Son of Man (8:23)
5. Noche Oscura del Alma (5:2

- Kristoffer Rygg / vocals
- Tomas Pettersen / drums
- Tore Ylwizaker / keyboards, electronics, programming
- Ole Aleksander Halstensgård / electronics

Tromsø Chamber Orchestra
- Snorre Holmgren / 1st violin
- Yuko Kawami / 1st violin
- Aelita Osadchuk / 1st violin
- Brynjar Lien Schulerud / 1st violin
- Kristina Nygaard Walsnes / 1st violin
- Berit Fonnes / 2nd violin
- Eira Foss / 2nd violin
- Sari Martinussen / 2nd violin
- Anders Melhus / 2nd violin
- Katrina Brown / viola
- Mari Giske / viola
- Sigrid Lien Schulerud / viola
- Mario Machlik / cello
- Ørnulf Lillebjerka / cello
- Inga Raab / cello
- Stein Paulsen / double bass
- Arne Bjørhei / trumpet
- Ingrid Eliassen / trumpet
- Torbjørn Ingvaldsen / trombone
- Jens Christian Kloster / trombone
- Martin Romberg / grand piano

Music commissioned for Tromsø Kulturhus in cooperation with the Arctic Opera and Philharmonic Orchestra. Composed and first performed by Ulver, on primarily electronic instruments, with the Tromsø Chamber Orchestra September 21 2012.  
"Much of this was recorded live, yet it is not a live album. We've spent long hours in the studio translating what happened that night.
We are at peace for now. It is more quiet than normal. More modern than medieval. But there will always be rapture. Consecration and crying. The father, the mother ... and ghosts. Shadows reverberates – it feels like a companion piece – and Silence's erratic electronique. Sample culture. War and vulture. People hurt. In spite we love. Our children. We fear their future.
Remember Górecki's No. 3: Symphony of Sorrowful Songs. It has haunted us for years, and probably always will. The Gustavs Mahler and Holst. Sound collages from When or Nurse With Wound. 70's kraut and synth. Ash Ra and Autobahn. 80's pop scores. John Carpenter and Tin Drum. Terry Riley, again and again and again. Saint John of the Cross."


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment