Thursday, August 8, 2013

Parhelia "The Precipice of Change"

Country: Ireland
Sub Genre: Instrumental, Post Rock
Release date: August 7, 2013
  1. Latitude by Longitude (2:56)
  2. Capricorn One (5:18)
  3. Desert Of Thought (4:47)
  4. The Light That Guides Us (4:39)
  5. Magnetic North (3:54)
  6. Chemtrails (5:51)
  7. Precipice (7:43)
Greg Clarke - Guitars, Effects, E-Bow
Philip Clarke - Guitars, Effects
Cathal Rodgers - Bass, Keys, Effects
Nils Helstrom - Drums

...Parhelia produce instrumental music that mixes elements of post-rock, prog and metal.... The sound is clear and well defined allowing the quartet to express themselves without confusion as to who is doing what. None of the players stands out from the rest which results in a well balanced listen, each of the instruments working for the good of the music. The guitars soar, often in the background in a kind of self-conscious way, while the rhythms are interesting, driving the music along at a steady pace from which they get more mileage than if they went off at breakneck pace all the time.
Read the full review by Jez Rowden at dprp.net


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment