Friday, March 20, 2020

Leafblade "The Goddess With Child"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Prog Folk
Format: digital
Release date: March 20, 2020
1. Three Fire Hill (6:02)
2. The Butterfly Kiss (3:08)
3. By The Brook (3:08)
4. The Goddess With Child Pt.1 (6:04)
5. The Goddess With Child Pt.2 (6:27)
6. The Goddess With Child Pt.3 (1:48)
7. Beeston (4:41)
8. Fleur-de-Lys (3:35)
9. The Lady Of Shalott (6:21)
10. A Promise In The Sleep [Silent Night] (9:11)
11. Outremer’s Gold (1:16)
12. Of Giants And White Horses (6:57)
13. A Dreamy Bohemian Watercolour (4:26)

Total Time 63:04

Sean Jude - Vocals, six and twelve-string electric and acoustic guitars, classical guitar
Brian Cummins - Bass, fretless bass, Taurus pedals, backing vocals (4-6)
Thomas Legg - Drums, percussion, keyboards
Kevin Murphy - Bass (1)

“The Goddess With Child” is a mysterious, ritualistic album.  It sounds as old as the land around us, but somehow fresh and revitalized.  The album starts well with three primarily acoustic tracks, but really gets going with the three part title suite.  This multitrack song is haunting and laden with secrets. You can feel it in the glorious vocal harmonies and rising melodies, almost inviting you to come and experience the wonder of its story.  It’s a fantastic song, to say the least.
Read the full review by Jason Spencer at theprogmind.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment