Monday, September 30, 2013

Hawklords "Dream"

Country: UK
Sub GenreSpace Rock
Label: Shellshcok
Release dateSeptember 30, 2013
01. Dream A Dream (7:32)
02. D.N.A (3:40)
03. Elemental Mind (4:38)
04. Nowhere Everywhere (4:46)
05. I.D. Man (2:51)
06. Nature's Dance (6:55)
07. Nature's Dance Coda (1:58)
08. White Rag (6:20)
09. Dead Air (2:52)
10. Psychic Eyes (7:00)

Harvey Bainbridge (ex-Hawkwind) - synths & vocals
Jerry Richards (ex-Hawkwind) - guitar & vocals
Adrian Shaw (ex-Hawkwind) - bass & vocals
Ron Tree (ex-Hawkwind) - lead vocals & FX
Dave Pearce - drums

Much like its predecessor from last year it chugs along rather nicely, but now interspersed with a few “dreamier” mellow tracks scattered throughout the CD. For those who like this sort of head-on spacerock no matter which Hawkwind camp it is from, and crave more, go ahead and get it, you won’t be disappointed. I am not so sure Dream fulfills my Spacerock Destiny as any better than We Are One. I even find it slightly weaker than the first effort. Stand-out songs are the opener, Dream A Dream, and the track Elemental Mind which seems to borrow a lot melody-wise from Hawkwind’s song Hippy, the punky Nowhere Everywhere, and the progressive-psychedelic closer Psychic Eyes, which clocks in at 7 minutes. 
Read the full review by Christian Mumford at aural-innovations.com



No comments :

Post a Comment