Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Alyeus "Forty Days at Sea"

Country: Canada
Sub GenreProgressive Rock/Metal, Ambient
Release dateSeptember 24, 2013
  1. Dreaming in Waves 02:31
  2. Triton's Horn 09:24
  3. Forty Days at Sea 06:20
  4. Elysium 03:29
  5. The Great Bird 08:22
  6. Ambush 03:44
  7. Dark Inception 02:21
  8. The Chambers 06:45
  9. VII 04:28
  10. Ashes to Angels 02:37
  11. The Keeper 05:31
  12. Last Dash 06:04
Kyle Alexander: Vocals, Guitar
Dean Greco: Bass, Programming, Backing Vocals
Ivan Recinos: Guitar, Backing Vocals
Andrew Van Der Voort: Drums, Percussion

Musically, we’re taken through a journey at sea full of epic moments punctuated by agile transitions. A lot of different degrees of heaviness are explored in Forty Days at Sea, which cover a wide range of the musical spectrum. I’m a sucker for concept albums, so I enjoyed the great amount of detail that was put into turning this idea into something concrete, including the excellent cover art, which I usually never notice. There’s even a story to go with the album, which features Redding, a starving sailor who battles hunger-induced hallucinations, traitors and imprisonment. The album is part two of a trilogy (with parts one and three yet to come), so I can’t wait to find out what the rest of the story is.
Read the full review by Norm Boivin at bucketlistmusicreviews.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment