Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Ashes of Ares "Ashes of Ares"

Country: USA
Sub GenreProgressive Metal, Power Metal
LabelNuclear Blast
Release dateSeptember 17, 2013
1. The Messenger - 5:07
2. Move the Chains - 4:33
3. On Warrior's Wings - 5:19
4. Punishment - 5:20
5. This Is My Hell - 5:13
6. Dead Man's Plight  - 4:40
7. Chalice of Man - 3:48
8. The Answer - 3:51
9. What I Am - 4:06
10. The One-Eyed King - 4:24
11. The Answer (Acoustic Version) [Bonus Track] - 3:51

Matthew Barlow (ex-Iced Earth) - Vocals
Freddie Vidales (ex-Iced Earth) - Guitars, Bass
Van Williams (Nevermore) - Drums

...their self-titled debut is the kind of pure metal record that could only be expected from such a trio. Unsurprisingly some of it does sound very much like Iced Earth (although not necessarily the Iced Earth that featured Barlow, but perhaps more akin the line-up fronted by Tim "Ripper" Owens), but where they've really excelled is on the tracks which sound entirely their own. The crushing Punishment, built around a modern metal riff, for instance sounds fresh and original, despite the strong familiarity listeners will undoubtedly feel to Barlow's unique voice. The album should really please everyone. Iced Earth fans missing Barlow's presence will find enough here to recall those glory days, while there is similarly more than enough new ideas to make sure Ashes of Ares are their own entity. (Andy Lye at jukeboxmetal.com)

This Is My Hell

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment