Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Doubt "Mercy, Pity, Peace & Love"

Country: Multinational
Sub Genre: Instrumental Jazz-Rock/Fusion, Avant Prog
LabelMoonjune Records
Release dateNovember 20, 2012
1. There Is a War Going On (3:22)
2. Jalal (7:16)
3. No More Quarrel With the Devil (4:41)
4. Rising Upon Clouds (5:41)
5. Purple Haze (4:47)
6. The Invitation (4:03)
7. Mercy, Pity, Peace & Love (12:14)
8. There Is a War Going On (reprise) (1:18)
9. Tears Before Bedtime (2:44)
10. The Human Abstract (6:24)
11. No More Quarrel With the Devil (reprise) (1:14)
12. Mercury (4:19)
13. Goodbye My Fellow Soldier (9:10)

Alex Maguire – keyboards, sequencer
Michel Delville – guitar, Roland GR09, samples
Tony Bianco – drums, sequencer

Mercy, Pity, Peace & Love is a concept album deriving its inspiration as much from William Blake's visionary aesthetics as from 20th century musical icons ranging from Jimi Hendrix, King Crimson and Tortoise to Igor Stravinsky and Olivier Messiaen. Rather than a linear sequence describing one musical event, this record is a multilayered sonic adventure that has a lot of stuff going on. Alternately fiery and mellow, groovy and meditative, Mercy, Pity, Peace & Love is a marked departure from the free rock and jazz models of its predecessor (the much-praised Never Pet a Burning Dog) and is rooted in the trio's most inspirational rock sources, offering hard-edged, straight-ahead beats, jazzy ballads, dub and ambient-trance episodes and even a cover version of Hendrix's Purple Haze which is bound to set your ears on fire. This album is filled with furious guitars riffs, progressive keyboard extravaganza, and monstrous, thundering drums.
Also read the review by  Raffaella Berry at progmistress.com



No comments :

Post a Comment