Friday, March 22, 2013

Massimo Mazzeo "...Like Words in the Rain..."

Country: Italy
Sub GenreProg Folk
LabelMellow Records
Release date: March 22, 2013
1. Cyan 02:05
2. Mulţumesc (thank you) 02:55
3. Sometimes 03:20
4. I blow the dust of my guitars 04:30
5. Acum (now) 03:28
6. Green 01:07
7. Valentina şi Nelu (Valentina & Nelu) 03:49
8. I've lost my head 03:25
9. Magenta 03:42
10. Mi-e dor (I miss) 03:26
11. Without words 02:29
12. I got sand for tears 05:40
13. Oglinda fericirii (acoustic version) BONUS TRACK 04:56
14. Beyond the fog (remixed 2013) BONUS TRACK 02:29

Massimo Mazzeo - lead and backinhg vocals, harmonica, acoustic and electric guitars, bass
Luisea Cumpenici - lead & backing vocals
Mauro Gaspa - keyboards (tracks 1, 10, 12, 13)
Silvano Sibona - drums (track 12)

First solo album by Heatwave Drum and Nostalgia leader. Songs mostly dominated by acoustic guitar in the Anthony Phillips style.
Achingly beautiful and wonderfully performed - anyone with doubts about Mazzeo's ability as a guitarist will become a believer after listening to this one - and with a unique yet nostalgic sound that stands apart from the rest of the progressive scene at this time, I'd say it'd be more palatable to prog folk afficionados, or at least people who enjoy acoustic music will also find this album to be a pleasant diversion.
Also featuring beautiful lead vocals from Liusea Cumpenici in Moldovan language.

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment