Friday, September 27, 2019

Borknagar "True North"

Country: Norway
Genre(s)Progressive Metal
LabelCentury Media
FormatCD, digital, vinyl
Release dateSeptember 27, 2019
1. Thunderous (8:34)
2. Up North (6:29)
3. The Fire That Burns (6:33)
4. Lights (5:04)
5. Wild Father's Heart (5:42)
6. Mount Rapture (6:08)
7. Into The White (5:57)
8. Tidal (9:32)
9. Voices (5:07)

Total Time 59:06

Øystein G. Brun - guitars
Simen “I.C.S. Vortex” Hestnæs - bass/vocals
Lars A. Nedland - keyboards/vocals
Bjørn Dugstad Rønnow - drums
Jostein Thomassen - guitars

The album kicks off with the powerful and rather aptly named “Thunderous,” and the dual clean vocal work of Vortex and Nedland, before the swirling maelstrom of black metal sonic violence and frenzied screams take over, the transition is a chill slash to the face, and incredibly satisfying. At 8 and a half minutes in length, this mini-epic is one of the longer tracks on the album, and the band uses the full length in a careful blend of styles and pacing in a reminder of what truly progressive black metal should sound like.

This is followed up by a rather different piece in “Up North,” which is entirely sung in clean vocals and is driven as much by the bouncy almost blues like organ work of Nedland than it is the complex, and very heavy guitar runs, and rock-solid rhythm. The song could almost be called commercial, except that it’s anything but. However, the main hooks of the song are highly melodic and memorable.
Read the full review by Jonathon Rose at metalwani.com

Up North 
The Fire That Burns 

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment