Friday, September 27, 2019

Ark Ascent "Downfall"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Metal
Label: Ascent Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: September 27, 2019
1. Arrival
2. Point Of No Return
3. Sanctuary
4. Darkest Hour
5. Farewell
6. Downfall
7. Ascension
8. Innocence Lost
9. The Aftermath
10. Closer To Heaven
11. The End Of Time

Rogue Marechal (Shadowkeep) - Vocals
Jack Kirby - Guitars, Keyboards, Drums, Additional Backing Vocals (11)
Andrea Arcangeli (DGM) - Bass (1-10)
Katia Filipovic - Piano (2, 5, 11)
Rich Hinks (Aeon Zen) - Bass (11)
Tim Hall - Keyboard Solo (11)

Musically, in his compositions, Kirby mixes a variety ingredients for his progressive metal concoction. Grounded in traditional heavy and power metal, Ark Ascent songs offer brisk riffage, thrilling guitar solos, synth embellishment and orchestration, and more than a few twists and turns in tempo and time signatures. Aside from often being heavy and fast, many of the arrangements have a very dense feeling, notably from Kirby's swollen riffage, yet also the keyboard saturation.
Read the full review by Craig Hartranft at dangerdog.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment