Friday, November 16, 2018

Kosm "Cosmonaut"

Country: Canada
Genre(s): Progressive Metal
Format: CD, digital
Release date: November 16, 2018
1. Space Mead (6:08)
2. Cosmonaut (5:28)
3. Colossus (6:39)
4. Wolves Upon The Throne (5:47)
5. The Esoteric Order (6:23)
6. Farseer (6:41)
7. Ancient Heart (5:24)
8. Fiefdom In The Sky (2:15)
9. Omnipresence (4:36)
10. Monarch (7:17)
11. Umbrakinesis (5:24)
12. Wza-Y'ei (4:21)

Total Time 66:23

Jessie Grace - Vocals
Sterling Paterson - Drums
Michael "Pastrami" Mastracci - Bass
Mike Slater -  Guitars
Erik Leonhard - Guitars

While intended to indicate a will to explore the atypical and elaborate the old into something new, the term “progressive” can be off-putting. Too often does a band fall prey to its own ambition of pursuing every flight of fancy and pushing things further, which can quickly turn a forward-thinking album into a confusing grab-bag of technically proficient tangents awkwardly sewn together. Cosmonaut is not that. Here is an album where progressive elements are subtly used to colour already solid, groovy song foundations, which could easily stand by themselves.
Read the full review by Daniel Robichaud at beatroute.ca


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment