Thursday, October 18, 2012

Watershed Drag "The Smoking Mirror"

Country: USA
Sub GenreNeo-Prog, Art Rock
Release date: October 18, 2012

1.Introduction to... 00:32
2.Transmissions from the Yaak 04:22
3.Pronouns 03:08
4.Corona 04:43
5.Tesseract 03:59
6.Polyrhythm 05:02
7.The One with the Mud 04:19
8.The Name 04:51
9.Transmissions from the Yaak (Pt. 2) 07:00
10.History 04:33


Amy Fehrenbach - Nylon String Acoustic Guitar, Banjo, Flute, Trombone, Upright Bass, Vocals
Cam Ferranti - Keyboards, Programming, Upright & Electric Bass, Stratocaster, Steel & Nylon String Guitar, Vocals

The music is a mix of slightly grungy art rock and neo prog. The music has a lot of similarities with Mostly Autumn and in particular Touchstones. The guitars are dirty. The vocals is a lot more ethereal than straight forward female vocals we knows from the English scene. The music a lot more eclectic than neo prog'ish. There is also a lot of folk rock in their music.
 Read the whole review at The sound of fighting cats

Bandcamp (free download)


No comments :

Post a Comment