Thursday, February 4, 2021

The Kelp Dwellers "Surfacing"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Instrumental Progressive Rock, Jamming, Fusion, Psychedelic
Format: CD, digital
Release date: February 3, 2021
1. Jellyfish Song (4:05) 
2. Winsome Rollers (5:02) 
3. Undine’s Righteous Victory (4:46) 
4. Westward, Mostly Sunny (4:35) 
5. Tricking King Swordfish (5:01) 
6. Otter Finley’s (5:00) 
7. Watch Out For Water Dog (4:31) 
8. Selkie Always Seeks (3:46) 
9. Night Ashore (4:54) 

Total Time 41:40

Todd Montgomery (Fernwood) – Electric Tenor Guitar, Electric Mandocello, Lap Steel, Electric Guitar, Synths, Piano, EBow
Gayle Ellett (Djam Karet, Herd of Instinct, Fernwood) – Bass, Electric Guitar, Electric 12-string, Piano, EBow
Craig Kahn – Drums
Joee Corso – Electric Guitar (4)
Brian Chapman – Electric Guitar (5)

Although much of the music is light and breezy, at first listen it comes across as simple and easy, there is a complexity in the construction which retains the interest and rewards multiple listens. Interesting interweaving guitar lines bubble through the surf, pushed on by the easy drumming of Kahn and Ellett’s nimble bass runs. ...There are also moments of darker moods, more mysterious passages evoking the unknown element of that undersea world, and the mythology that has grown up around such mysteries. 
Read the full review by Graham Thomas at theprogressiveaspect.net

Also read the review by Peter Thelen at expose.org

No comments :

Post a Comment