Friday, January 12, 2018

Psychic Lemon "Frequency Rhythm Distortion Delay"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Psychedelic, Space Rock, Krautrock
LabelTonzonen Records TON34
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release dateJanuary 12, 2018
1. Exit To The Death Lane (8:31)
2. Hey Droog! (6:57)
3. You're No Good (6:43)
4. Interstellar Fuzz Star (9:53)
5. Satori Disko (9:30)

Total time: 41:34

Andy Briston - Guitar, vocals, keyboard, acoustic guitar
Andy Hibberd - Bass guitar
Martin Law - Drums, percussion
Iain Roddick - Saxophone

'Exit To The Death Lane' opens proceedings with a flurry of neo-psych guitars and crashing drums, all coming together to form that mythical 'wall of sound'. Muted vocal choruses and some superlative guitar work break through this wall and the whole feel changes into something...well...just incredibly psychedelic. It channels the 'Happenings' era Floyd and the spacey hustle of Hawkwind and yet remains firmly Psychic Lemon. 'Hey Droog!' is a monster - huge riffs and more muted vocals that sound almost choral herald moments of sheer psych heaven...it is driven forward by pummelling drums (I swear Martin has 3 arms!) and throbbing basslines. It is heavy and yet remarkably fluid...an absolute masterclass.
Read the full review at dayzofpurpleandorange.blogspot.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment