Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Dee Palmer "Through Darkened Glass"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital
Release date: January 23, 2018
1. Urban Apocalypse (6:47)
2. Black Orpheans (6:02)
3. At The Still Point (4:10)
4. Through A Piece Of Darkened Glass (5:11)
5. Emmanuelle (5:02)
6. The Man In The Street (5:06)
7. A Night In Spain (4:49)
8. Old Lady Grey (6:06)
9. Things We Said Today (3:53)
10. Forever Albion (7:03)

Total Time 54:09

Dee Palmer (Jethro Tull) - Piano, Keyboards, Organ, Portative Organ, Musette Accordion, Flute, Spanish Guitar (6), Vocals, Orchestral arrangements
Tim Harries - Bass Guitar, Fretless Bass Guitar, Contra Bass.
Martin Barre (Jethro Tull) - Guest Soloist
Scutty Lee - Drums; Guitar
Suzie Shrubb - Oboe and Cor Anglais
Eddie Maxwell - Trumpet; Flugel Horn
Nick Trish - Trumpet
Joe Giddey - Cello
Richard Horne - Percussion

Heather Cairncross, Nicholas Garrett, Nick Pritchard, Katie Thomas, Rachel Weston, Lawrence White - Backing Vocals

I suspect the audience for this album will mainly be the more curious of Tull aficionados which is somewhat of a pity as in many ways the album is practically a definition of the word "progressive".... The melodies and arrangements are sublime and hearing this solo work from Palmer makes one realise just how much of an impact she had on the classic Tull sound. 
Read the full review by Mark Hughes at dprp.net


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment