Friday, November 24, 2017

Dustin Behm "The Beyond"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Instrumental Technical Progressive Metal
Label: Rockshots Records
Format: CD, digital 
Release date: November 24, 2017 (EU), January 19, 2018 (NA)
1. Mechanization (4:04)
2. Poltergeist (3:11)
3. Alien Voodoo (4:20)
4. Interdimensional Traveler (3:45)
5. The Beyond (4:10)
6. Genesis (4:20)
7. Rituals (4:01)
8. Descent Into The Unkown (3:44)
9. Haunted Labyrinth (3:34)
10. Obelisk (3:29)
11. Last Resort (3:42)
12. Awakening (3:54)
13. Towers Of Glass (2:33)

Total Time 48:47

Dustin Behm - guitar, E-Bow, bass, keys, programming

The Beyond is a darkly progressive voyage through strange paranormal worlds. The album begins with some very technical and dissonant sounding songs. Each track builds on the journey as the songs evolve through the course of the album. The album strikes a balance between melody and oddity and contains some innovative ideas, even for a progressive metal album. The Beyond is characterized by extended range guitar, bass, and synths paired with monstrous drumming in a heavy progressive context. Dustin uses an E-Bow (Electronic Bow) to solo on a couple tracks for a unique harmonic guitar sound. The Beyond is inspired by early 90's progressive death metal such as Spheres era Pestilence combined with a modern metal influence from Meshuggah. Chris Poland's Return to Metalopolis was also an influence. The album is heavy, progressive, dissonant, and showcases some very fast guitar playing.
 The album is inspired by Dustin's love of classic horror movies, especially European horror of the 70's and 80's. The album artwork, skillfully painted by Mark Cooper, represents figures from a series of nightmares Dustin had as a child (of which Mark was unaware when he painted the piece). 


No comments :

Post a Comment