Friday, May 12, 2017

Cheer-Accident "Putting Off Death"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
LabelCuneiform Records (Rune 446)
Format: CD, digital
Release date: May 12, 2017
1. Language Is (11:24)
2. Immanence (4:12)
3. Wishful Breathing (3:45)
4. Falling World (3:40)
5. More And Less (3:00)
6. Lifetime Guarantee (6:59)
7. Hymn (5:11)

Total Time 38:11

Jeff Libersher - guitar, trumpet, vocals, keyboards
Dante Kester - bass, keyboards
Thymme Jones - drums, vocals, piano, trumpet, keyboards, acoustic and electric guitars, moog, noise
Carmen Armillas - vocals
Mike Hagedorn - trombone
Teria Gartelos - vocals
Sacha Mullin - vocals
Cory Bengtsen - baritone sax
Beth Yates - flute
Julie Pomerleau - violin
Joan Morrone - french horn
Ross Feller - tenor sax
Rob Pleshar - tuba
Todd Fackler - tuba

The band’s third release for Cuneiform follows in the elusive, meandering trajectory of their earlier work, which is always instantly identifiable if never quite definable. They’ve managed to conjure a unique collage of intricate prog, lush pop and experimental noise, drawing on hugely disparate influences without ever settling on a sound that could be definitively traced to any of them in isolation. Meaning that they always did and continue to, sound like no one but themselves.

Web page

1 comment :

  1. It's a wonderful album! The songs are so different from one another, and yet it's so cohesive! For me this album is 38 minutes (and 11 seconds) of pure joy! Perfect!