Friday, April 29, 2016

Haken "Affinity"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock/Metal
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: April 29, 2016
1. affinity.exe (1:24)
2. Initiate (4:16)
3. 1985 (9:09)
4. Lapse (4:44)
5. The Architect (15:40)
6. Earthrise (4:48)
7. Red Giant (6:06)
8. The Endless Knot (5:50)
9. Bound By Gravity (9:29)

Total Time 61:26

Charlie Griffiths - guitars
Ray Hearne - drums
Richard Henshall - guitars & keys
Ross Jennings - vocals
Diego Tejeida - keys
Conner Green - bass

With Affinity, Haken move further away from their most obvious early influences and solidify their status as one of the most fresh and dynamic bands around. With each album the band have been more collaborative in their approach, and this time ideas have been brought by every member and worked on together. Far from being confusing or incoherent, this approach has retained the core Haken sound while continuing to develop an exciting diversity of sounds and styles.
There are a couple of particularly evident shifts on this album. A greater proportion than ever before is atmospheric in style, with a notable post-rock influence that manifests explicitly in one or two songs and more subtly in other places. The album is also tonally a lot brighter than all their previous releases. That doesn’t mean it’s all chilled out and upbeat, but the shift is noticeable. There is also a greater infusion of digital and electronic sounds, and an enjoyable infusion of 80s sounds and styles. Again, these stylistic elements do not take over and the core Haken style remains, with heavy riffs and planet-sized choruses, but the changes help distinguish Affinity from everything else.
Read the full review by Rich Jones at ladyobscure.com

The Endless Knot

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment