Friday, February 22, 2019

The Claypool Lennon Delirium "South of Reality"

Country: UK/USA
Genre(s): Psychedelic
Label: ATO Records - ATO0445
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: February 22, 2019
1. Little Fishes (6:06)
2. Blood And Rockets: Movement I, Saga Of Jack Parsons / Movement II, Too The Moon (6:29)
3. South Of Reality (3:27)
4. Boriska (5:25)
5. Easily Charmed By Fools (5:10)
6. Toady Man's Hour (3:12)
7. Amethyst Realm (7:47)
8. Cricket Chronicles Revisited: Pt. I, Ask Your Doctor / Pt. II, Psyde Effects (6:23)
9. Like Fleas (3:31)

Total Time 47:30

Les Claypool (Primus) -  vocals, bass, mellotron, drums
Sean Lennon - vocals, guitar, mellotron, drums
Paulo Baldi - drums on (4, 6, 8.1)
Josh Adam Meyers - voices (8.1)
Adam Gates - voices (8.1)

Amethyst Realm is a progressive rock epic clocking in at nearly eight minutes. Lennon’s guitar playing really shines on this one. It’s a good song but not the best on the album. Toady Man’s Hour is a ripper. It’s mad as a hatter. It bumps along propelled by bass and amusing melodies and lyrics about “a toady little man”. Cricket Chronicles Revisited takes up the tale of the prescription drug addicted cricket from the first album. Musically it’s much different, filled with Eastern strings and rhythms. Like Fleas ends the album in an aptly groovy style. It’s thematically appropriate too as it sees Mother Earth taking revenge on humanity. For all we’ve done to her, she’ll shake us off “like fleas on the back of a dog”
Read the full review by Benjamin Woods at dailyreview.com.au


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment