Sunday, February 21, 2021

Nad Sylvan "Spiritus Mundi"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Rock
FormatCD, vinyl, digital
Release dateApril 9, 2021
01. The Second Coming (07:00)
02. Sailing to Byzantium (06:42)
03. Cap and Bells (04:47)
04. The Realists (02:18)
05. The Stolen Child (04:58)
06. To an Isle in the Water (04:36)
07. The Hawk (04:09)
08. The Witch and the Mermaid (01:57)
09. The Fisherman (05:27)
10. You've Got To Find A Way (05:55)
11. To a Child Dancing in the Wind (05:08)
12. The Hawk (demo version) (04:01)

Nad Sylvan (Steve Hackett, Agents of Mercy, Unifaun) - vocals, instruments
Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel, Stick Men) - electric bass
Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic, The Tangent) - bass
Mirkko DeMaio (The Flower Kings) - drums
Steve Hackett (Genesis) - guitar (11)

The new album, “Spiritus Mundi”, centers around the poems coming from Nobel Prize winning William Butler Yeats (1865-1939), who Sylvan calls ‘one of the finest poets to come out of Ireland.’ Not having to write the lyrics himself this time gave Nad the opportunity to solely focus on the music. And being off the road due to the pandemic allowed for more time to mix and perfect every aspect. The result is a collection that Sylvan calls his best work. The album marks a shift musically from Sylvan’s previous outing focusing more on the lyrics and vocals in tandem with gorgeous orchestration and timely melodies. 
The Stolen Child 

No comments :

Post a Comment