Wednesday, August 7, 2019

How Far To Hitchin "Black Bead Eye"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Format: CD
Release date: August 2019
01. Queen Of Malice (6:18)
02. Desensitised (7:31)
03. Instant Gratification (6:32)
04. Woman Screaming At Trees (Pts 1 & 2) (9:02)
05. Compression (6:59)
06. The Crow (7:37)
– Pt i) Tooth & Claw
– Pt ii) Corvidance
– Pt iii) Black Bead Eye
– Pt iv) Arrogance
07. Bumsurfing (4:59)
08. Giraffe (4:54)

Total Time – 54:52

Paul Dews – Guitars, Bass, Chapman Stick, Mandolin, Ukulele, Flute, Keyboards, Drums, Percussion, Vocals, Programming
Emma Gee – Voice (4)

... Black Bead Eye is a glorious explosion of quirky ideas and unconventional musical flights of fancy which is unpredictable and strangely fascinating. The album immediately grabs you by the ‘proverbials’ as Queen of Malice opens, initially with the sound of a needle on a vinyl record and then expanding into a sort of orchestral Hammer Horror film theme before an eccentrically undulating synth line slides in… and with a countdown we are suddenly plunged into a pulsing, crazily percussive and off-kilter spiral towards an insane world. It’s quite bizarre and rather breathtaking, with echoes of the early ’80s incarnation of King Crimson. Paul Dews vocalises, in fine Brian Eno style, over a wailing guitar, intoning about tribalism, twisted ideologies and how the population is being manipulated. 
Read the full review by Leo Trimming at theprogressiveaspect.net


Web page

1 comment :