Friday, November 1, 2019

Wilderun "Veil of Imagination"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Symphonic/Folk/Death Metal/Rock
FormatCD, digital
Release date: November 1, 2019
1. The Unimaginable Zero Summer (14:32)
2. O Resolution! (6:35)
3. Sleeping Ambassadors Of The Sun (6:31)
4. Scentless Core (Budding) (3:33)
5. Far From Where Dreams Unfurl (8:28)
6. Scentless Core (Fading) (5:21)
7. The Tyranny Of Imagination (9:21)
8. When The Fire And The Rose Were One (11:51)

Total Time 66:12

Evan Anderson Berry - Vocals, Guitars, Piano
Dan Müller - Bass, Synths, Orchestrations, Gang vocals
Jon Teachey - Drums, Gang vocals
Joe Gettler - Lead Guitar, Gang vocals
Wayne Ingram - Orchestrations, Gang vocals
Rob Berry - Piano (8)
Emily Thompson - Additional piano
Doug James - Spoken word

Veil of Imagination is an exceptional demonstration of metal embracing the sublime. With their debut and sophomore albums, Wilderun established themselves as one of the most exciting young voices in modern progressive metal, blending the grandiosity of folk and symphonic metal with the sonic depth of melodeath. There were clear parallels with Opeth and Wintersun, along with a host of other folk and pagan metal mainstays like Eluveitie, Ensiferum, Equilibrium, and so on. And yet, Wilderun still established their own identity, which they’ve developed further on Veil of Imagination. It’s their most fully-realized version of this formula and reaches cinematic heights you might hear on a Devin Townsend album. It’s a stunning, gorgeous exercise in prog metal songwriting that will surely make its mark long after this year.
Read the full review by Scott Murphy at heavyblogisheavy.com


Web page

1 comment :