Monday, September 10, 2018

Nova Cascade "Above All Else"

Country: Multinational
Genre(s): Ambient/Progressive Rock
Format: CD, digital
Release date: September 10, 2018 (digital), October 8, 2018 (CD)
1. Above All Else (3:29)
2. Continuum (3:06)
3. Prophecy (5:10)
4. We Never Spoke (3:35)
5. Hurtled (3:42)
6. L0-FI (2:44)
7. One Hundred & Fourteen (2:21)
8. Epiphany (2:05)
9. Imago (2:22)
10. Swept Away (2:36)
11. Icarus (3:06)
12. Wilted (2:05)

Total Time 36:21

Dave Hilborne : Synths, lead vocals
Dave Fick: Bass
Alessio Proietti : Guitars, backing vocals
Heather Leslie :Violin
Charlie Bramald : Flute
David Anania: Drums (8)

So onto the album, at 37 minutes, this is perfect for the style and feel of the album. I am not sure if there is a genre of prog call ambient prog , but if there was not there is now! At the right time and moment this is a wonderful relaxed album to chill out to. Designed to be played as a whole, each track effortlessly blends with the next to form a dreamy mixture of music. Mainly instrumental the album is punctuated with vocals, and when they do arrive the best comparison I can give is Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis , which given the ambient feel of the album works well.
Read the full review by Scott Evans at progradar.org



No comments :

Post a Comment