Sunday, April 1, 2018

Calliope "Chapel Perilous"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Psychedelic, Retro Prog
Label: Romanus Records
Format: vinyl, digital
Release date: March 31, 2018
1. Astral Hand (3:38)
2. Carry Me Home (4:24)
3. Sands Of July (4:42)
4. The Dunes (3:33)
5. Creep No More (5:07)
6. Sea Of Red (3:30)
7. Chapel Perilous (4:34)
8. Evil As You (4:10)
9. Brujo (4:47)
10. Little Smoke (3:38)

Total Time 42:03

Al Kraemer: Vocals, Organ
Victor Buell IV: Vocals, Guitar
Anthony Smith: Bass
Dan Dahl: Percussion

Early on in Chapel Perilous, the third psyched-out full-length album from Milwaukee’s Calliope, things slow down. “The Dunes” is a three-minute-plus drone of noise and feedback, with wisps of riffs and hints of rhythm fading in and out of the ether. Not that the album up to that point has been a breakneck dash—the tempo throughout skews heavily towards “lumbering”—but it’s a remarkable rest stop nonetheless. Forget what you’re doing, Calliope says, put on a pair of headphones, dim the lights, and let Chapel wash over you. Some further mood enhancers wouldn’t hurt, either.
Read the full review by Matt Wild at milwaukeerecord.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment