Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Eric Gillette "The Great Unknown"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Progressive Rock/Metal
Format: CD, digital
Release date: June 7, 2016
1. The Great Unknown (4:41)
2. The Aftermath (6:30)
3. Escape (18:01)
4. Damage Is Done (6:55)
5. Empty (5:19)
6. Runaway (9:08)
7. All I Am (7:58)

Total time 58:32

Eric Gillette (Neal Morse) - Lead Vocals, Guitar
Thomas Lang - Drums
Diego Tejeida (Haken) - Keyboard
Conner Green (Haken) - Bass

“Escape” is the album’s monster. An eighteen minutes long epic rog-journey with something for every taste which easily succeeds with its ‘songs within a song’ approach in logically flowing from one part to the next to form a complementary whole. It begins with a synth melody in the back giving way to a towering, heralding, anthem-like guitar work perfectly demonstrating Eric’s top-notch playing skills. He is not just another fancy guitar-slinger, he knows how to add a memorable and soulful feeling to his moving fingers in the right amount, a dose that oozes inspiration and virtuosity. After the crescendo comes a peaceful break with a sad melody acting as the backdrop for Eric’s voice, with guitars climbing slowly pairing the lyrics.
Read the full review by Joel Barrios at rockatnight.com

The Aftermath (excerpt) 

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment