Friday, June 9, 2017

Motorpsycho "Begynnelser"

Country: Norway
LabelRune Grammofon (RLP2193), Stickman Records (Psychobabble 090)
Release date: June 9, 2017
  1. Mærrabotn (Fosen)
  2. Terje's Sang (Bøla 1)
  3. Jaques Tati (Kongensgate)
  4. Trylleball (Sannan)
  5. Dekdektiven Røker Om Natten (Figga)
  6. Taterhjulets Gnaur (Majavatn)
  7. Englevinger (Namskogan)
  8. Sirkelpust (Jørstadbrua)
  9. Satan (Namdalen)
  10. Over Nyhavna (Falstadvalsen)
  11. Tåke På Fjorden/Rinnan Kjæm (Sør-Beistad) Gutan I Skogen (Sol På Sunnan) Terje's Sang (Bøla 2)
Bent Sæther - bass, guitar, vocals
Hans Magnus "Snah" Ryan - guitar, vocals
Kenneth Kapstad - drums

The music on this album was written for a project Motorpsycho was invited to be a part of by Trøndelag Teater in early 2015. It eventually ended up as the play "Begynnelser". The band also wrote a lot more during preparations and rehearsals. It was a long process and most of the music was tweaked in a big way to fit the flow and feel of the play. It was also played live every night, so what you would have heard during the performances would in most instances have sounded very different from this album. The music is not sequenced in the order it was used in the play, and a lot of the music that eventually was played in the performances is missing from this album, so this is perhaps best described as 'a version of what it might have been' more than a document of what the soundtrack eventually ended up becoming.
The included DVD contains a complete 2 hour filmed performance of the play for those who want to see it and hear the final and complete music score performed in context. So all in all you get a lot of new, original Motorpsycho music. The play itself is reallly good with great visual presentation including some stunning video work. And English subtitles! The DVD also includes a fine documentary.
Trylleball (Sannan)

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment