Monday, February 24, 2014

Morbus Chron "Sweven"

Country: Sweden
Sub GenreProgressive Death Metal
LabelCentury Media
Release date: February 24, 2014
01. Berceuse (03:18)
02. Chains (04:49)
03. Towards A Dark Sky (07:49)
04. Aurora In The Offing (05:01)
05. It Stretches In The Hollow (05:10)
06. Ripening Life (06:46)
07. The Perennial Link (05:16)
08. Solace (02:14)
09. Beyond Life's Sealed Abode (05:41)
10. Terminus (06:38)

Dag Landin - Bass
Adam Lindmark - Drums
Robert Andersson - Guitars, Vocals
Edvin Aftonfalk - Lead Guitar

... it's safe to say that it might possibly be the best death metal record to come out of Sweden since Entombed got tired of playing death metal. The aptly titled Sweven is nothing short of a total success on all fronts. The entire history of death metal, all the way back to before rock even existed, is a part of Sweven in some strange way. It's almost impossible to find any semblance of the band we knew as Morbus Chron unless you take into account the basic elements that have defined their sound until this point. Those nasty, shrieking vox that were at the forefront of A Saunter Through the Shroud are here in perfect form, the undertones of the swampy sewer metal courtesy of Autopsy are still vaguely present, and most of all the charming adversarial attitude showcased since the band’s inception in 2007 is still alive and well. The only thing that's different this time around is that Sweven sounds like nothing the metal world has really ever heard before.
 Read the full review at sputnikmusic.com



No comments :

Post a Comment