Monday, February 17, 2014

Gustavo De Beauville Volume 1"

Country: Canada
Sub GenreInstrumental Progressive Metal/Rock, Post-Metal
Release dateFebruary 17, 2014
  1. Release the Kraken 04:36
  2. Jagannath 03:37
  3. As I Slither 04:28
  4. From the Light 04:05
  5. Seeking Solace 03:18
  6. Ancient Courage 04:40
  7. Visions from Above 05:04
  8. Insectoid Trails 02:45
  9. Sands of Allure 02:41
  10. Red Giants 02:16
  11. Losing Innocence 03:29
  12. In a Shaman's Dream 03:34
  13. Oh Divine Raven 03:16
  14. Take to the Skies 04:21
  15. In Defiance 04:59
Gustavo De Beauville

Volume 1 displays in my player as a Soundtrack and in some ways that’s most appropriate in trying to categorize these 15 instrumental compositions most of which fall into the four-minute range. The guitar is the lead instrument of choice but the musical tone isn’t overly heavy. Instead I would describe it as intense and moody with powerful drumming and industrial techno electronics providing a great counterpoint to the guitar work. There is grittiness to the guitar that’s for sure, but it also pulls back from the crunch, displaying other fuzz distortions over the full fifty-seven minutes of the CD. Each tune offers up a core theme or melody that the guitar will play around inserting a solo here or a musical deviation there. Typically a song will start off in one direction, shift into a dramatic change or mood, play there for a while before either going back to the opening theme or creating a distinctly new closing. Still talking about the guitar, it offers up many different sound styles injecting a wide degree of tonal variety meaning the music on Volume 1 is never boring and hardly ever samey, all the while being full of catchy hooks and an overall driving approach.            
 I really was captivated by the music of Gustavo De Beauville. While it was heavy at times, it was never heavy for long or for without reason. What kept me coming back was the overall variety. There was always something very cool sounding just after the next musical break. Volume 1 easily gets a lot of playing time on my player. Recommended to guitar fans and those of you who like your prog moody and dramatic with some guitar crunch. (Jerry Lucky)


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment