Friday, February 21, 2014

A Sense of Gravity "Travial"

Country: USA
Sub GenreProgressive/Technical/Death/Jazz Metal
Release dateFebruary 21, 2014
  1. Wraith 06:38
  2. Stormborn 04:02
  3. Breakthrough 03:16
  4. Answers Lost 04:42
  5. Trichotillomania 07:03
  6. Harbinger 04:59
  7. Above the Horizon 03:35
  8. Ration Reality 05:10
  9. Weaving Memories 04:18
  10. Spectre 08:58
C.J. Jenkins - vocals
David McDaniel - guitar
Brendon Williams - guitar, choir vocals, additional keyboard
Brandon Morris - keyboard, guitar
Chance Unterseher - bass
Peter Breene - drums

While some people nowadays will be automatically (and dare I say shallowly) turned off at the prospect of anything even slightly Meshuggah-influenced, A Sense of Gravity are up there with Textures or early Hacride in achieving success with polyrhythmic-driven prog metal.  The progressive groove metal elements combined with the more fusion-oriented and new-age schools of melodic death metal, in tandem with the straight prog metal incorporations, make Travail one of the best newcomer records of the year so far, if not one of the best 2014 has yet produced, period.
Read the full review at nocleansinging.com



No comments :

Post a Comment