Monday, February 16, 2015

The Amazing "Picture You"

Country: Sweden
Genre(s)Atmospheric Progressive Rock
LabelPartisan Records
FormatCD, digital
Release dateFebruary 16/17, 2015 (EU/US)
  1. Broken
  2. Picture You
  3. Circles
  4. Safe Island
  5. To Keep It Going
  6. Fryshusfunk
  7. Tell Them You Can't Leave
  8. The Headless Boy
  9. Captured Light
  10. Winter Dress
Christoffer Gunrup
Reine Fiske
Fredrik Swahn
Alexis Benson
Moussa Fadera

Picture You, inhabits an aural landscape that’s all its own: a panoramic, constantly evolving spectacle marked by layers of intertwining guitars, richly textured keyboards and a rhythm section adept at skewed tempos and a tendency to veer off in unexpected directions.
Christoffer Gunrup’s anguished croon drifts through the slowly intertwining melodies of “Broken”, which concludes in a hushed pastoral interlude of voice and chiming guitars. “Safe Island” floats on a sea of reverb drenched feedback, while “The Headless Boy” drops a bit of folky Nick Drake-like melancholy into the mix.
As compelling and enigmatic as expected, Picture You has its own unique texture and timbre, but Gunrup, an ironic perfectionist who is always slightly dissatisfied with his work, would rather play music than talk about it. 

Picture You
Safe Island

Web Page

No comments :

Post a Comment