Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Dead Empires "Secret Snakes / Silent Serpent"

Country: USA
Genre(s): Instrumental Progressive Metal, Sludge
FormatCD, digital
Release dateFebruary 3, 2015
  1. Obsolescence 08:26
  2. Abra Cadaver 06:21
  3. Cosmic Death Ape 05:12
  4. Five Day Death 05:36
  5. Tyrantosaur 07:16
  6. House of Light (featuring Nick Lee) 15:59
Phil Bartsch - Drums
John Bryan - Guitars
DJ Scully - Bass
Nick Lee - Final solo in House of Light

Dead Empires is not an instrumental band. Of course, you’re free to call them that, but they choose not to label themselves as such. In their words, they say it allows them create music that is organic, natural and passionate. This mindset has led to an album that fuses many styles of music into one sweeping collection of songs.
If Dead Empires isn’t instrumental, than progressive metal would be the next best description. Secret Snakes/Silent Serpents certainly backs up this idea, as the opening song ‘Obsolescense’ is a meaty eight minutes long. It sets the stage for the entire album, transitioning between intricate guitar solos to breakdowns in such a natural way that nothing feels out of place. There are no unnecessary pieces that break the flow of songs. Just when you think that there’s more to a solo, in comes a breakdown that demands your attention. These dynamic changes ensure that no song overstays its welcome and keep you engrossed from beginning to end.  
 Read the full review by Cody Manley at itdjents.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment