Friday, February 13, 2015

Mechanism "Between the Words"

Country: Poland
Genre(s)Progressive Metal
FormatCD, digital
Release dateFebruary 13, 2015
1. I - 01:14
2. All I See - 04:45
3. III - 00:55
4. Jump Into Flight - 07:54
5. Prize For Every Sin - 09:05
6. Between The Words - 02:39
7. Abused - 07:08
8. VIII - 00:48
9. Countless Ways - 05:54
10. X - 01:48
11. Trapped - 06:48

Rafał Stefanowski - vocals
Michał Cywiński - guitars
Kamil Chmielowiec - keyboards
Artur Olkowicz - bass
Adrian Łukaszewski - drums

Between the Words is not what one would expect when listening to a progressive metal album. Adrian Łukaszewski's drums are more reminiscent of the progressive rock of Flying Colors than of the prog metal of Dream Theater. Mechanism introduce some musical variety with songs such as Between the Words, which is a short, tranquil piano piece, reminiscent of Mannheim Steamroller's first album, Fresh Aire I. The guitar work throughout the album is heavy, with very few soaring solos. Rafał Stefanowski's vocals are similar in tone to more mainstream rock/metal groups, with his approach aptly fitting the dark concept of the album. Nevertheless, it is the keyboards, complicated bass work, and prog drumming that classify this album as progressive metal. 
Read the full review by Bryan Morey at dprp.net


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment