Friday, October 2, 2015

Jono El Grande "Melody Of A Muddled Mason"

Country: Norway
Genre(s)Art Rock, Avant Prog
LabelRune Grammophon
FormatCD, vinyl, digital
Release date: October 2, 2015
1. Bach's beach - 8.22
2. Melody of a Muddled Mason - 9.17
3. Lament x - 1.40
4. Violent Water Promenade - 4.10
5. Abiding Swansong - 4.03
6. Smother Eve II - 7.40
Total time -35:12

Jono El Grande: guitars,vocals,percussion,farfisa,piano
Erik Lokra: saxophones,flute
Anders Kregnes Hansen: vibraphone
Torgeit Koppang: fender rhodes
Terje Engen: drums
Eivind Henjum: bass
Kari Ronnekleiv: violin on 2,4 and 6
Ole Henrik Moe: viola on 2,4 and 6
Katrine Schiott: cello on 2,4 and 6
Isa Calorine Holmesland: violin on 1,2,3 and 5
Ragnhild Lien
Karoline Vik Hegge
Kaja Fjellberg Pettersen
Eva Lunde: vocals on 2

"Melody Of A Muddled Mason" is the natural successor to "Neo Dada", Jono´s masterstroke from 2009. Some of Jono´s finest writings can be found here, and he has refined his already considerable arranging skills to perfection, just listen to Bach's Beach and the title track for evidence. Jono lists movements like Rock in Opposition and the Canterbury scene and artists and composers like Frank Zappa, Stravinsky, Magma, Henry Cow and Gentle Giant as sources of inspiration. With his releases and stage shows he has now established his own signature, with mature compositions, refined arrangements, improved guitar playing and the introduction of subtle vocals. "Melody Of A Muddled Mason" is the sound of a composer and producer at the peak of his powers. 
Bach's Beach

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment