Friday, October 30, 2015

Psycho Drama "From Ashes To Wings"

Country: USA
Genre(s)Progressive Power Metal
LabelPride & Joy Music
FormatCD, digital
Release dateOctober 30, 2015
1. Inferno (1:21)
2. From Ashes To Wings (8:02)
3. Far From Grace (6:12)
4. Requiem (6:56)
5. Edge Of Forever (6:22)
6. A New Day (7:41)
7. All That We Have (6:39)
8. Sea And Sky (1:27)
9. Broken Road (6:48)
10. Paralyzed (3:30)
11. To Live Again (8:21)

Total Time 63:19

Corey Brown - Vocals
Hercules Castro - Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Ian Ringler - Bass
Greg Sands - Drums, Vocals

This is classic melodic heavy metal, spiced with some power, symphonic, and progressive metal, and then wrapped up in some obvious rock groove. To say that this is wildly progressive metal is probably casting our stones to far into the water. There's nothing hyper-technical about the arrangements. There's some gratuitious tempo changes and nice mixtures of instruments, light piano intro and segues against striking riffage, by example. But it's enough to gather some intrigue. Something I did notice, call it a "feeling" more than anything, is that the overall tone of the music is almost melancholy. Not dark, in some creepy goth metal way, but seemingly somber.
 Read the full review by Craig Hartranft at dangerdog.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment