Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Lowercase Noises "This Is For Our Sins"

Country: USA
Sub Genre: Instrumental, Ambient, Post Rock
Release dateApril 30, 2014
1. Death in a Garden (5:39)
2. Silence of Siberia (7:26)
3. The Hungry Years (4:40)
4. Famine and the Death of a Mother (5:02)
5. A Chance Grain of Rye (6:53)
6. This is For Our Sins (4:57)
7. Death of a Quiet Man (5:28)
8. Death of a Harsh Man (2:50)
9. Death of a Godmother (1:00)
10. Requiem (5:22)
11. What Would There Be Out Here to Hurt Me (4:27)
12. Prepare to Die, But Sow the Rye (5:20)
13. The Timekeeper's Theme (3:59)

Andy Othling - Guitar
Tank Lisenbe - Drums/percussion on tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 10, 12 and 13
Andrew Tasselmyer - Bass on tracks 1, 3, 5, 10, 12 and 13
Kristen Daugherty - Cello on tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 10
Shannon Harden - Cello on tracks 6, 7 and 11
Jenny Thomas - Vocals on tracks 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 and 12
Alex Harden - Vocals on tracks 1 and 7
Matt Thomas - Vocals on tracks 1 and 8
Alex Sugg - Additional percussion on track 12

This album follows the story of the Lykov family, who lived isolated in the Russian wilderness for over 40 years before their discovery by geologists in 1978.
The album opens with lovely choral vocals, there are cellos, percussion, even banjos! Of course it soars with lots of emotional welling and release, building up into great volume before easing into quieter sections led by piano or cello. But great care is taken to make the melody and force of each track match the chapter of the story. The story is not told in the traditional lyrical method but by the music. Thus one has to read a bit about the family's story and then the song titles and the music make sense. "Silence of Siberia" is a slow piano meditation that would fit onto an Eno album. "The Hungry Years" introduces the banjo which works surprisingly well in his style, imparting the rural challenged of the family's struggle against the elements, as well as the rustic beauty.
 Read the full review at progarchives.com



No comments :

Post a Comment