Friday, September 9, 2016

The Fërtility Cült "A Forest of Kings"

Country: Finland
Genre(s): Psychedelic, Retro Prog, Fusion
Label: Macaroni Penguin Music
Format: CD, digital
Release date: September 9, 2016
1. Blood Of Kings (8:25)
2. The Path Is Clear (6:45)
3. The City On The Edge Of Forever (10:55)
4. God Of Rain (9:08)
5. Cycles Of Time (10:46)

Total time 45:59

Ville Kaila - bass, vocals
Artturi Mäkinen - drums
Ilari Ryhänen - sax, backing vocals
Anssi Solismaa - keys
Eero Johannes Heinonen - guitars

Part Doom-gloom, part inspiringly playful and almost cheesy, part Hammond-Organ dominated Hard Rock, part psychedelic-etheral drift, part Punk attitude, and this amazing Saxophone going through all those different modes of expression as well, truly the band’s trademark. It even put a smile on my face, with a ”Chewbacca moment” towards the the opener Blood of Kings…
Of those 5 songs – all about 9min – the single track ”The path is clear” sticks out with a heavy bass line, and Cycles of Time most strongly channels the 70s psychedelic spirit. As mentioned, the modes of expression are quite diverse, and the album as a whole quite entertaining. It’s only the vocals on the pseudo-ballad God of Rain that give me a reason to complain – a bit too flat and snotty for my taste, although this vocal style goes nicely with the other songs. (Klaudia Weber at stalker-magazine.rocks)



No comments :

Post a Comment