Friday, September 30, 2016

Brain Tentacles "Brain Tentacles"

Country: USA
Genre(s) Progressive Avant-Garde Jazz Metal
Label: Relapse Records
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: September 30, 2016
1. Kingda Ka
2. Fruitcake
3. Cosmic Warriors Girth Curse
4. Hand Of God
5. Gassed
6. The Spoiler
7. Death Rules
8. The Sadist 03:00
9. Fata Morgana
10. Peace In War
11. Palantine

Bruce Lamont (Yakuza, Bloodiest, etc) - horns, voice, electric piano, synth
Dave Witte (Discordance Axis, Municipal Waste, etc) - drums
Aaron Dallison (Keelhaul) - bass, voice, synth
Eugene Robinson - vocals

The self-titled debut album from mind-melting metallic jazz trio Brain Tentacles is a journey in improvised and structured experimental sound from three venerable scene veterans. Brain Tentacles sees the threepiece weaving their way through twisted, seizure-inducing compositions that call to mind the insanity of John Zorn's storied project Naked City and Mike Patton's most erratic experiments. Brain Tentacles are masters of tension: the album moves unpredictably from mathy chaos to ponderous, juddering grooves that warp time in their wake, darting from one extreme to the other via insane rhythms and truly progressive, expansive songwriting. Occasional vocals (including a guest appearance from Oxbow's Eugene Robinson) lend an even sharper edge to the album, which is sure to blow away fans of instrumental and vocal-driven music alike. 



No comments :

Post a Comment