Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Twilight Fields "Further Up, Further In!"

Country: Canada
Genre(s): Psychedelic, Art Rock
Format: digital
Release date: September 6, 2016
1. Song for the End
2. Stars, as They Fall…
3. Further Up, Further In
4. Black Rain Fall
5. We Were Young
6. Our Anthem (99)
7. Moor Spirits
8. Ring in the New Age
9. The City Hum
10. This Is Not the End
11. After the Fall

Allister Thompson (The Gateless Gate, Khan Tengri) - guitar, bass, voice, keyboards
Tim Timleck - drums
Teri-Lynn Janveau - piano, keys, voice
Cosmic Choir - vocals

The expansive sound and reflective, philosophical tone of this record stem from many influences, from psychedelic and progressive rock to eighties neo-psych and alternative, psych-folk, and even ambient and shoegaze.
Allister's way of musical thinking has been strongly affected by spacy prog acts like Pink Floyd, Barclay James Harvest, and The Moody Blues, the cosmic psych of Hawkwind, but also the intelligence, passion and depth of eighties bands like The Waterboys, Midnight Oil, New Model Army, and The Church, and the wistful sounds of seventies British folk songwriters like Richard Thompson and Sandy Denny — as well as the vocal arrangements of The Beach Boys.
Darkly philosophical, the songs deal with the crises of a crumbling human world and damaged environment, but also humankind’s place in the greater universal context and the need for a drastic upswing in compassion and love to help us find our way.


No comments :

Post a Comment