Friday, April 1, 2016

Mogwai "Atomic"

Country: UK
Genre(s): Post Rock, Soundtrack
Label: Rock Action Records, Temporary Residence (North America)
Format: CD, digital, vinyl
Release date: April 1, 2016
1. Ether (5:10)
2. SCRAM (5:41)
3. Bitterness Centrifuge (4:51)
4. U-235 (4:34)
5. Pripyat (4:19)
6. Weak Force (5:08)
7. Little Boy (3:52)
8. Are You A Dancer? (3:53)
9. Tzar (5:13)
10. Fat Man (5:58)

Total Time 48:37

Stuart Braithwaite - guitar
Barry Burns - keyboards, synthesizer
Dominic Aitchison - bass, guitar
Martin Bulloch - drums

The album is composed of reworked versions of the music recorded for the soundtrack to director Mark Cousin’s acclaimed documentary Atomic: Living In Dread and Promise, which first aired on BBC Four last summer.
Constructed entirely of archive film, Atomic is an impressionistic kaleidoscope of the horrors of our nuclear times - protest marches, Cold War sabre-rattling, Chernobyl and Fukishima - but also the sublime beauty of the atomic world, and how x-rays and MRI scans have improved human lives. Mogwai’s soundtrack encapsulates the nightmare of the nuclear age, but its dreamlike qualities too. It is the latest in the band’s series of impressive soundtracks and scores, following acclaimed albums Les Revenants (The Returned) and Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait.
Bitterness Centrifuge

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment