Friday, April 1, 2016

Novembre "Ursa"

Country: Italy
Genre(s): Atmospheric Progressive Metal
Label: Peaceville Records
FormatCD, vinyl
Release date: April 1, 2016
1. Australis (7:37)
2. The Rose (5:30)
3. Umana (5:50)
4. Easter (5:03)
5. URSA (5:50)
6. Oceans Of Afternoons (5:45)
7. Annoluce (6:21)
8. Agathae (9:23)
9. Bremen (6:17)
10. Fin (7:13)

Total Time 64:49

Carmelo Orlando - Guitars,Vocals
Masssimiliano Pagliuso - Guitars
Paolo Sapja - Saxophone
Tatjana Ronchetti - Vocals
Fabio Fraschini - Bass
David Folchitto - Drums
Riccardo Studer - Keyboards and effects

Following a beautifully atmospheric and slow-paced intro, the first track “Australis” really gets this record off the mark, with a gracefully simple yet striking lead riff composed of just three notes, and a soaring vocal harmony layered over the top, creating a distinctly progressive vibe and kicking the album off fantastically.
Transitioning from a somewhat prog-rock vibe created by the drums and guitars, to heavier riffs, a great shred section, and screamed vocals, this first track really allows the band to display their impressive sonic range. With clean vocal harmonies in the beginning that seem reminiscent of R.E.M’s Michael Stipe, and later with screams that some might compare to Behemoth’s Nergal in terms of the blackened feel, the true variation of Novembre’s influence can be seen through this opening song alone.

Read the full review by Sam Alberti at itdjents.com



No comments :

Post a Comment