Friday, April 8, 2016

Ihsahn "Arktis"

Country: Norway
Genre(s): Tech/Extreme Progressive Metal
Label: Candlelight Records
Format: CD, vinyl, digital
Release date: April 8, 2016
1. Disassembled (5:02)
2. Mass Darkness (3:52)
3. My Heart Is Of The North (4:43)
4. South Winds (5:34)
5. In The Vaul (4:09)
6. Until I Too Dissolve (5:24)
7. Pressure (6:04)
8. Frail (3:39)
9. Crooked Red Line (4:16)
10. Celestial Violence (5:24)
11. Til Tor Ulven (Soppelsolen) (9:13)

Total time 57:20

Vegard Sverre Tveitan - bass, guitars, keyboards, vocals
Tobias Ørnes Andersen - drums
Matthew Kiichi "Matt" Heafy (Trivium) - vocals (2)
Einar Solberg  (Leprous) - vocals (1, 10)
Jørgen Munkeby - saxophone (9)

Arktis is a further exploration of the classic Ihsahn sound, yes, but it also infuses his music with influences that range from classic progressive death metal to the pop music of the 80’s.
It would be too simplistic to place these two influences into a yin and yang dichotomy, imagining disparate tracks which feed from these two sources. Certainly, such tracks exist. For example, opener “Disassembled” is a perfect example. It begins with a riff that would not be out of place on an Opeth album. While Ihsahn’s signature, raspy vocals are a departure from that style, the countless synth lines present in this track are not. They are heavy with 70’s influence and their style, ducking in and out of the guitar riffs, is classic prog death. The following track, “Mass Darkness”, seems to continue along this track, heavily backed by choirs and Matt Heafy (Trivium) on a guest spot.
However, things start to become much more complicated on “South Winds”.

Read the full review by  Eden Kupermintz at heavyblogisheavy.com

Mass Darkness

Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment