Friday, March 25, 2016

The Syn "Trustworks"

Country:  UK
Genre(s): Progressive Rock
Label: Umbrello Records
Format: CD, digital
Release date: March 25, 2016
1. What If? (0:44)
2. Trustworks (5:53)
3. Revolution Now (3:48)
4. This World Of Ours (5:07)
5. Something That I Said (5:10)
6. Never Too Late (4:07)
7. Lucifer Hesitating (5:23)
8. The Wheel (4:16)
9. Seventh Day Of Seven (14:50)

Total time 49:18

Steve Nardelli - lead vocalist, guitar
    With Moon Safari:
Simon Åkesson - vocals, piano, organ, moog, mellotron, keys
Petter Sandström - vocals, acoustic guitar & harmonica
Pontus Åkesson - vocals, acoustic & electric guitars
Johan Westerlund - vocals, bass
Tobias Lundgren - vocals, drums & percussion
Sebastian Åkesson - vocals, keyboards, guitars

What i think the incarnations of The Syn excel at in my humble opinion is applying a rather nice sixties beat vibe to some of their songs and this can be found amidst the fabulous pace and rhythm of Revolution Now. The jangly Rickenbacker like sound certainly enhances the vibe and along with the now legendary Moon Safari harmonies creates a huge colourful aural picture. Great Organ sound too reminding me very much of the early Al Stewart albums. Continuing with this retro feel replete with glassy sounding guitar et al is This World Of Ours fully showcasing the Moon Safari’s adept harmonies once again. Moving along nicely to another very powerful message is Something That I Said putting a serious slant on the proceedings. A Bob Marley strength protest if ever i heard one without the Reggae overtones. A great homage to Yes going on here in no small part To Simon Arkesson’s retro keyboard sounds and Jon Anderson backing vocals.
Read the full review by at  theprogmeister.com


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment