Saturday, March 19, 2016

Defecto "Excluded"

Country: Denmark
Genre(s): Progressive Power Metal
Label: Elevation Recordings
Format: CD, digital
Release date: March 19, 2016
1. Excluded (4:06)
2. When Daylight Dies (4:25)
3. You Had It Coming (3:19)
4. Drifting Into Blackness (4:42)
5. The Final Transition (3:50)
6. Rage (3:34)
7. Desperate Addict (3:36)
8. Don't Loose Yourself (3:16)
9. Into Oblivion (6:43)
10. Sovereign (3:47)
11. The Sands Of Time (7:00)

Total time 48:18

Nicklas Sonne - Vocals & Guitars
Thomas Bartholin - Bass
Frederik Møller - Guitars
Lars Jensen - Drums

Title track ‘Excluded’ kicks off proceedings with a pacy track that neatly showcases most of the band’s tricks and styles. ‘When Daylight Dies’ follows a similar theme, perhaps with a touch more snarl about the guitar lines.
The album gets more interesting with some stretching vocal delivery on ‘You Had It Coming’ segueing into an edgy ‘Drifting Into Blackness’, both powered by pumping keyboard lines.
‘The Final Transition’ features the first real pace and mood change; ‘Rage’ is about the heaviest track on offer; and ‘Don’t Lose Yourself’, together with ‘Sovereign’ are the most direct and accessible. These two are the pick of the album for me.
Read the full review by Dave Atkinson at getreadytorock.me.uk


Web page

No comments :

Post a Comment